NPT Reports: Whose Music? receives NABJ award nomination

Whose Music NPT Reports
NPT’s LaTonya Turner with NPT REPORTS: WHOSE MUSIC? panelists Ann Powers, Cecilia Olusola Tribble, Dr. Kristine McCusker, and Tiera.

NPT’s LaTonya Turner has received a Salute to Excellence nomination from the National Association of Black Journalists. Turner was nominated for NPT Reports: Whose Music? in the Public Affairs: Interview/Discussion category. Winners will be announced during the NABJ’s virtual awards event on Dec. 19, 2020, at 6 p.m. CT. Tickets for the event are free and available at

NPT Reports: Whose Music? is a conversation about the relevance of genres in the digital age and how race and gender influence how artists are received and marketed. The half-hour show is available to stream at

Turner’s guests in the program are MTSU’s Dr. Kristine McCusker, an ethnomusicologist; NPR music critic Ann Powers; arts and cultural educator Cecilia Olusola Tribble; and country music singer-songwriter Tiera. Interviews with Henry Hicks, president and CEO of the National Museum of African American Music; and Belmont University voice student Leslie Osey round out the show.

Share this post:

Leave a Reply